Adsense

Google Adsense

In 2005, I received an email from Google and which was subsequently followed up by a phonecall from New York. The woman who contacted me was a runner and she was to become my account manager, if I added Adsense to the Running Information site – Time-to-run.com.

I had focused on the development of the site and now we had the opportunity to have Ads running on the site. For 6 months I put them off and then succumbed to adding Adsense towards the end of 2005, around September / October.

It was great having a contact within Google and I had been told how Google valued the content and everything looked pretty rosy.

Well, that was until the person within Google left and I simply became another number who would never be able to get a direct response from the ‘giants’.

It was the start of a Love / Hate relationship, with me still running their atrocious ads while watching the amounts dwindle and a dislike for the company festering within.

Google had moved past Microsoft in the people’s minds of the company that was becoming despised the most.

And yes, I still run Adsense, however it is most often due to me not focusing on the next level of advertising that is needed.

However, during this period I have also gone through many, many different offers of how you can make a fortune with their ads on your site and what a great relationship we shall have and how everyone shall benefit.

Nuff said

The only solution is to do it yourself.

More to follow.

One comment

  1. […] In 2005, I received an email from Google and which was subsequently followed up by a phonecall from New York. The woman who contacted me was a runner and she was to become my account manager if I a…  […]

Leave a Reply

